Happy Birthday to me……and a rant

July 1, 2008 at 7:19 pm 2 comments

Yes, it’s true, I’m 43 today

And what a day it’s been.  The roof lost 6 or 7 tiles overnight.  DH has been on the phone trying to get someone to come and at least quote the job, but so far, only one taker, for Saturday. 

*UPDATE*

The volunteer Emergency Service unit came during dinner, the have patched the hole, so the rain won’t get in and ruin the insulation.

Now we  have to fix the shade cloth over the back patio, the tiles fell through and ripped it.  Oh, and the central heating died….hello $500 plus.

My SIL is pregnant again (her second).  MIL is over the moon, “isn’t it GREAT news krissy?”

Do I HATE her calling me “krissy”?…..YES!!

I also HATE her attitude to her grand children…Paul (my DH) was the first of her 3 children to marry.  He married me, and automatically, his mom inherited 5 grandchildren.

We then went on to have five of “ours”….Paul often says they are ALL ours, we pay for them (not their dads) LOL

Anyways, MIL finds that when talking about the grandkids, she “forgets” the inherited five.  Oh, and did I menton tht she was campaigning for us to quit after “our” first?

NOW, SIL and BIL are going to have a new baby, and THEY will be staying with MIL and FIL for  Christmas.

We are expected to go up for Christmas this year, Paul turns 40 on Christmas eve……MIL and her sister are planning a family reunion for Christmas Day, at the local tennis club. (Merry Christmas, the PERFECT present for someone with an anxiety/depressive disorder is a CROWD…….)….not to mention that now HER plan is that she and FIL are going to book us into a hotel/cabin….for a WEEK.

Where will Santa leave the presents???  GREAT memory for my kids……Christmas ’08???, hotel room, NO Christmas decorations, and being in a place where half of them aren’t REALLY welcome…..

Oh….back to my birthday.  I got $30 from the in-laws, some I spent on milk and bread, the rest I put with a few of my ‘spare’ (read scraped) dollars and bought two fish for my marine tank.  They are yellow bellied damsel fish, quite pretty, and that makes 3!! fish in my tank.

DS (22) set my marine tank up for my birthday.  Well, a late Mother’s Day, early birthday present.

DD (19) is buying me an anemone tomorrow….maybe, I can get a clownfish as wel……..???.

And, my other kids are giving me pj’s….which I picked up a couple of weeks ago at the supermarket……and Paul couldn’t find them to wrap for me……

….the reality joy of being on a fixed income…..

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Bad Blogger Well……I thought things were going OK…..

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karin  |  July 1, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    Sounds to me like christmas at home would be so much more fun!

    Reply
  • 2. Debbie  |  July 4, 2008 at 11:34 pm

    Happy Birthday Christine!!!!! July 1 is a national holiday in Canda – Canada Day!!!! hope your day went well. ^debbie^

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

About Me

Studio Christine
Victoria, Australia
Wife of Paul, mother of 10 chidren, 22 years to 2 years (six girls, four boys) Anxious, depressive and sometimes obsessive. I hand and machine piece, and machine quilt with my friend Ethel (a Gammill Short Arm quilting machine)

GHQA 2


