How did you………

April 23, 2009 at 11:19 pm 1 comment

manage to marry a quilter??

I was a member of an online group in mid 1999.

I was a working mother, going to school part time, and I had 5 children (and two PITA ex’s)

Someone started posting to the list I was on. The emails were signed “paul”. “Paul” had just started a sampler quilt class close to their home…….3 suburbs from me as it turned out……

In those days, I was a outspoken and brash, and I politely enquired if the poster was a wife using her husband’s account, ………or *shock, horror* a MAN

the next post was along the lines of “male, single, heterosexual and 30………”

So, I emailed him, and we spoke for over 2 hours. I got an email picture of him (cute!!)

We met, and hit it off. Paul proposed on October 16th, 1999, and we got married on 29th February, 2000…….so we get to celebrate our anniversary every 4 years (or, according to Paul, he only gets in trouble for forgetting every 4 years)

We have doubled the size of our family, as well as having 3 angels…….

and we get some strange looks when people find out that not only does Paul quilt, he does EXQUISITE redwork……I had to get him to teach me stem-stitch…..

It’s a shame that more men don’t quilt or do some other “fine” craft………it’s a great way to share a hobby (and double the stash) LOL

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Giveaway…… Miss me?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. susan  |  November 8, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    I know it was a long time ago, but I love this story. My husband’s name was Paul, too, and he *also* quilted! He even used my quilting machine for his own quilt business. He did the pantographs I refused to do. LOL I miss him so much! You take care of yours.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

About Me

Studio Christine
Victoria, Australia
Wife of Paul, mother of 10 chidren, 22 years to 2 years (six girls, four boys) Anxious, depressive and sometimes obsessive. I hand and machine piece, and machine quilt with my friend Ethel (a Gammill Short Arm quilting machine)

GHQA 2


